About Us

Mission Statement:

Dedicated to reducing Teen Traffic Violations and Teen Deaths Due to Car Crashes. 

IRS 501(c)(3) Letter for TVIP

Board of Directors:

William R. Richardson   (Founder)
Bill Richardson grew up in the Atlanta area and at the age of 19 moved to Michigan with his family.  There he began a career in Law Enforcement with the Oakland County Sheriff Department.  He met his wife Diane and soon moved back to the Atlanta area.  He joined the Gwinnett County Police Department and served 25 years prior to his retirement.  He obtained a Criminal Justice Degree at Brenau University.  Bill has raised two boys who are in their thirties and has two grandsons.

Several years prior to retirement Bill began a program on the department called “It Won’t Happen To Me”.  This program was designed to use the stories of the lives of teens who lost their lives in teen driving related car crashes to educate teens of the consequences of making the wrong decisions while driving.  This program became very successful and funding for the printing of the book was picked up by the Governors Office of Safety and continued for four years till his retirement in 2004.

Toward the end of 2004  Bill was asked to form a Teen Victim Impact Program by the Solicitor of Gwinnett County.  The Teen Victim Impact Program was developed and began January 2006 in Gwinnett county. We currently have Teen Victim Impact Programs in the Cities of Atlanta, Athens, Loganville, Milton and Roswell as well as in the counties of Bartow, Chatham, DeKalb, Gwinnett, Henry, Macon-Bibb, McDuffie, Paulding, Rockdale.  We also have programs in N. Georgia (Blairsville), NE Georgia (Clarksville), and NW Georgia (Ringgold).  A Substance Abuse Program has been developed to be used by courts, currently in Athens-Clark County.

Diane Richardson has been married to Bill for 39 years.  Diane is originally from Michigan.  She worked most of her career in banking and then worked for Robertson & Gable and Corporate Kits Plus as a document inspector and marketing representative.  She retired from the law firm in 2006 to work full time for It Won’t Happen To ME as a bookkeeper and marketing representative.

David Robertson is a native of Savannah and has lived in Atlanta, Georgia since 1981. He graduated from Georgia Tech with a degree in Chemical Engineering. He obtained his law degree from the University of Georgia.

David is a member of the State Bar of Georgia. David is admitted to practice in the Georgia Court of Appeals, the Supreme Court of Georgia, and the United States Supreme Court. He is also a member of the United States Patent Bar.

Ann Sechrist (Parent of Clayton Sechrist) Currently works with Gwinnett Technical College in continuing education.

Program Speakers:


William R. Richardson (Founder)

Dan Llorens

Dan is currently employed as a Sargent with the Gwinnett County Police Department.  Dan has a passion to educate young people about driving having seen so many teens seriously injured or killed due to car crashes.

Bill Mabrey

Bill Mabrey is a retired real estate broker.  He and his wife Donna own and manage several residential rental properties.  He is a father and grandfather that has successfully raised five teenagers.  He has supported, volunteered or worked for It Won’t Happen to Me and the Teen Victim Impact Program since its inception in 2006. Bill is passionate about having an impact on the life altering decisions and choices that our young drivers are making.

Mike Pearson

Is a retired Lieutenant from the Gwinnett County Police Department after 25 years of service.  He and his wife Connie have two daughter and three grandchildren.  He became involved because having seen so many lives lost due to car crashes during his law enforcement experience and especially after having lost three family members killed in car crashes he wants to make a difference.

Administrative Staff:

In addition to our program speakers we also have an administrative staff.

Diane Richardson (Staff Coordinator)

Linda Bowers

Anita Epps

Mona Hayslip

Donna Mabrey

Jessica Montoya

Meg Richardson

Jeanne Sieg

top of page